Hi, I’m manic. She’s depressive.

For the past few weeks, my sister has been in hospital after suffering a stroke. The initial news seemed to get worse day by day – the doctors then found a blood clot in her lung, then multiple blood clots and, ultimately, a hole in her heart (which I later learned isn’t as uncommon as I first believed). The medical staff at the hospital has been challenged by the dual issues of the stroke, which affected my sister’s speech, and the blood clots. The treatment has been progressing.

My sister and I, in past years, have both been diagnosed with bipolar disorder, although our issues with the illness have literally been at opposite ends of the spectrum. I have been more on the manic end of things (although I believe I have been blessed in that I have gone a medicated-assisted decade without a manic episode). As for my sister, she is more on the depressive end and has not had the luck I have had in finding the right mix of meds. On a too-frequent basis, she goes into a depression. These agonizing depressions can last as long as 13 months.

She was in a depression since June of this year and she admitted that, aside from dragging herself through her work responsibilities, all she wanted to do was sit on her couch and watch television. I firmly think her more recent health concerns stem from her depression and resulting months-long inactivity. Indeed, from what I’ve read in the past few days, lack of exercise can lead to such health woes.

I’m not saying being either manic or depressive is either better or worse than the other. Each condition comes with its own set of challenges… being without both would be best. But it’s not like we have a choice.

Leave a comment